Inktober 5/31 Chicken or the Egg?

 

IMG_0964 (3).JPGWhich came first….the chicken or the egg?

In this case, it was the egg.  I sat in the warm autumn sunshine with our chickens to do this sketch. Sitting on the plastic feed bucket (lid on, of course!), I set myself up for a lovely sketch session. This interested the chickens for a few minutes, and they circled around me, beady eyes peering at me sideways as chickens do.

Then, the mostly forgot about me!

The resulting chicken sketch is actually a combination of two  chickens as models, who managed to stay still long enough for me to get a good look.

And I was reminded how dinosaur-like they are!  Strange scaly feet! And red skin around their eyes! And legs that just look like sticks shoved into a fluffy body.

But they sure are cute! I enjoyed doing this so much, and reminded how lucky I feel that we have animals to care for.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ooh! Such a cute chicken! Love its determined look and stride 😄
    How cool to have actually had two models for it!
    And you’re right they really resemble dinosaurs! 😄🐣

Leave a Reply

