Day 10 – Gouache Paint Tubes

**This is part of my #100daysofdozensproject, inspired by Elle Luna.

IMG_0140 (2).JPG

Gouache?  How the heck do you say that?!?

GWASH. GGGGGWWWASH.  The more I practiced it, the more I liked the sound of it.

I figured if I could not even pronounce an art supply, I had no business using it. First introduced to them in Jill Weber’s class in Sketchbook Skools’ Expressing a few years ago, I bought the cheapest one I could find (sorry Reeves!) and never used them again.

It is basically opaque watercolor and I love the look, but I am a creature of habit and usually stick with my Micron ink with watercolor most sketches.  It also has quite a strong odor.

Such gorgeous color, though! I will have to give it more of a chance I think.

Happy Thursday, friends!

Melissa

4 Comments Add yours

  1. pari617 says:

    I like gouache! The first ones that I could find in my regular stationery store was Rangeela brand and they are fun to use! A good and strong substitute for my dried up watercolours 😀

  2. missyjean says:

    So glad you have experience with them! Did you the brand you use also have the strong odor? I really enjoy the bright colors they give, and hope to use them again soon.

    Are you working on any art projects these days? I would love to see them 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend!

  3. jmnowak says:

    Yeah, pronunciation is a tricky thing! I like to say it as GOO-ARSH. Lol. And I like your colourful tubes. 👌

  4. Hahaha! I completely get your sentiment about being unsure if you´ve the right to use them when you can´t pronounce them! I had the same trouble a couple of years ago! 🙂 It´s like going to a French restaurant and being unable to order because you don´t know what it is!! Never mind the pronouncing thing! 😀
    I prefer also watercolors or acrylic, and never really worked with Gouache. If it smells funny I wouldn’t use it…
    Have a happy day! xoxo 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

