Does Slowing Down Actually Give Us MORE Time?

 

img_2301-2
Sloth and Snail Pendants for a new project I am working on. Ink and Watercolor. (2016).

Have you ever felt like time stretches out in front of you so vastly that you could swear it has literally slowed down? One of those wonky and fun occurrences of life, and I sure experienced that this past weekend.

As many of you know, I have been trying to develop daily habits for sometime now to help me manage life in an ever amped-up world, buzzing and spinning along much faster then a sloth moves. The more I stick to these habits, the more time I have for other stuff!

So far, I am connecting these cosmic dots with these daily  habits:

  •  Light a candle at meals – Slow down to enjoy the food and moment
  • Morning pages – Slow my thinking down to transfer them to the page
  • Sketch – Slows my mind and serves as my meditation

I have noticed the more I slow down with these practices, and instead of trying to fit MORE into the day, intentionally choose what I spend my precious 24 hours on, the more the day seems to expand.

Has anyone else had experience with this?  Daily habits or practices that sharpen your focus and magically expand your hours somehow?  I would love to hear your thoughts.

Cheers!

Melissa

P.S. The sketches were spawned from the Inktober 2016 day 24 prompt “slow”. Read more about Inktober here in the article Ready your pens! It’s InkTober.

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Being in the moment…….😊

    1. missyjean says:

      It is such a lovely place to be….but sometimes tricky to keep your mind there.

  2. I’m really not much of an artist, but I do love coloring-yes and adult who enjoys coloring. There is something quite meditative about swirling waxy colors onto an already neatly lined page. Though, I do enjoy water painting and would love to take a class someday.

    1. missyjean says:

      Coloring is awesome! What books do you use? I agree wholehearted that color selection and the movement is so meditative. So glad you connect with it in that way.

      Who says you are not an artist? Maybe you are an artist and you simply don’t realize it just yet. 😀

      Thanks so much for connecting and your comment!

      1. Well, I use the books I pick up for our nieces and nephews from the dollar tree. One of these days I’ll pick one up for myself, you know, one of those “adult” coloring books. 😉

  3. I have a lot of admiration for the sloth, though a very unfashionable creature, bees and ants seem to be the creatures to emulate these days, so many people buzz around fuelled by the amphetamine of their own self importance. Lovely post.

  4. Ohh! A sloth! I just love those!!! They are one of my favourite animals (I feel very much related to them sometimes 😉 ) and you captured its friendliness soooo well! And what a lovely idea to make those pendants! Are you going to sell them for christmas or something like that?
    Oh, yes, slwoing down really is great, we all should do it more often! And your rituals seem to be the perfect way! Cheers! 🙂 xxxxxx

    1. missyjean says:

      Sloths have such sweet faces, don’t they? I started the project for my sister actually, whose pet Pug died last month. I thought a pendant would be a nice gift for her. However, the project kind of grew, so I am selling a few here and there for the holidays. And rituals during the holidays are what keep me sane! 😀

      1. They are really adorable and beautiful, as are you for making such a sweet and thoughtful gift for your sister to comfort her! And I can very well see how they sell great! It´s a wonderful and personal gift, and everyone who gets one of these will be so pleased and happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

