Light Up Your Life With Daily Rituals

I have started lighting a candle at meal times as a daily ritual, and I think it changed my life. Let me explain.

Last weekend, I have the incredible opportunity to visit a dear friend who lives on Orcas Island, an almost ridiculously idyllic island off the coast of my home state of Washington. Each gathering around the dinner table was started off with a lighting of a candle, which her ball-of-precious-energy son stood on a chair to do.

Such a tiny action, but it brought an incredible energy to both the shared space and meal in front of us.

In a world of fast food, meals eaten on the go, and sometimes even skipping meals all together, this simple daily ritual made me realize that eating may be the single most powerful daily ritual we can do to save ourselves, and possible save our world.

I will leave it at that, but if you have a candle handy……

Wishing you an inspired Saturday, friends.

Cheers,

Melissa

 

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I agree, the small daily rituals are so important to our lives and those around us! Love your sketch

    1. missyjean says:

      So true! It is contagious, isn’t it? You can identify with the NW island vibe, I am sure, from this post. What a gorgeous corner of the world!

      I am so glad you enjoyed the sketch! Cheers.

  2. I believe daily rituals are important, mine are more on the spiritual side, but I agree we often forget how important eating together can be.

    1. missyjean says:

      Eating together can be so powerful to connect communities. It honestly was something I had not thought of in a while, but visiting my friend reminded me. Thanks for you comment! πŸ˜€

      What are some of your daily rituals?

      1. Everyday I wake up and spend time with God. I love journaling while listening to music, I usually write down what I am grateful for, my thoughts on the day.

      2. missyjean says:

        What a relaxing way to start the day. Gratitude is so powerful!

        I do a daily “Morning Pages”, where I simply fill three pages. Very centering practice I am learning!

        Thanks for your comment.

      3. anytime(: and that sounds lovely

  3. Sabiscuit says:

    It’s a wonderful ritual. One of my favourite restaurants does this at night. The room lights are dimand customers eat in calm and quiet. It would take a hard heart to find strife during a tasty meal.

    1. missyjean says:

      Exactly! I guess I don’t usually pay much notice to candles on tables at restaurants but they are undoubtedly very common. Most likely an old superstition or tradition behind it as well. I need to look into that. πŸ˜€

  4. I agree wholeheartedly! And I also do light a candle at meals, though mostly in autumn/winter and at weekends when I enjoy dinner with my mom πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

