In Memory of a Deaf Cat Called Detour

I never thought I would be a “cat person”. At the mere mention of the furry little felines, my mind instantly went to visions of the crazy cat lady, living in solitude with one (or 50!) too many cats jammed into one small living space.  No, thank you.

Then, Detour the Wonder Cat came into our lives unexpectedly just under a year ago, and changed all that.

I did this sketch after he had been with us about a month.

dsc_0188-2
Detour the Cat in a Chair . November 2015.

Sadly our sweet kitty Detour died last night. I found him October 6th in front of a store called Lucky Detour in front of our house. He ran toward me meowing, narrowly escaping being hit by a car.  I scooped him up and took him home. In that moment, I adopted him, and set my sights on caring for him the best I knew how. Naming him Detour after the store seemed fitting.

dsc_0189-2
Bird’s-eye view of Detour. November 2015.

He was deaf, loud and often under foot trying to keep up with the action, not being able to hear audio cues. My roommate Pat called him Def Jam or Jammer, and he was loved by us all.

From day one, he was a happy-go-lucky kind of guy, known for walking dead-center into a circle of friends standing around in the kitchen, sitting down and simply looking up at all the people surrounding him.  He was grateful to have a home, and although we knew he was sick from the moment he came to us, his life was filled with  lots of love, gatherings with his human friends, and endless goat’s milk.

Although a big part of me misses his weight at the foot of the bed, warmth in my lap, and general friendliness shown toward any human (or other four-legged friends!), I hope he is up in heaven, hearing restored and having as much goat’s milk as he is accustomed to.

Def Jam, you will be missed!

I did this sketch after he had been with us about a month.

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. My condolences on your loss. One of our cats died a couple of months ago. We still have two of her sisters, but her loss is felt every day nonetheless. They are our family. Your illustrations are beautiful, by the way.

    1. missyjean says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words! He was a sweetie and is missed already.

      I keep thinking I see him out of the corner of my eye, only to find it is just the corner of the table or a random out-of-place shoe that resembles little Detour in form.

      I love that you notice four legged friends as family. They are, aren’t they?

      Thank you about my sketches. I really love doing it!

  2. Oh, I´m so very sorry to hear about your cat´s death, Melissa! How very sad you must feel! My heart goes out to you!! I´m glad though you overcame your initial reluctance to get involved with cats. I´m sure Detour had a very lovely time with you and your beautiful sketch of him tells perfectly of the love you felt – and still feel – for him! xxxxx

  3. missyjean says:

    Thank you, Sarah! It surprises me how much miss the little guy. 😦

    I keep thinking I see him walking into the room out of the corner of my eye. There will be many stories in the coming days told of Detour, I am sure. Pets are such an amazing addition to our human experience.

    I hope you are well, friend!

  4. Same thing again…I’m so sorry Melissa! You must think me very insensitive to have apparently not replied to your message 😦 I truly wonder how often this has happened without me noticing? Anyway, I do feel with you. Pets are really wonderful companions, every animal really 🙂 It’s hard to loose such a good friend. But I look forward to the many stories you’re planning to share with us about Detour! 🙂 xxxxx

Leave a Reply

