Week 22: Gene Wilder

“There is no life I know to compare with pure imagination.  Living there, you’ll be free if you truly wish to be. ”  — Gene Wilder as Willie Wonka

DSC_0178 (4)
Gene Wilder as Willie Wonka, Micron ink and watercolor. 2016.
01-gene_wilder.jpg
Who can resist that top hat?! Gene Wilder as Willie Wonka

Who:  Gene Wilder, born Jerome Silberman (1933-2016)

What: American actor, screenwriter, and author

Where: Born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Why:  Gene Wilder is possibly best known for his role in the 1971 film WIllie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.  This has been one of my favorite films since childhood…..who can resist Oompa Loompas and the possibilities of rivers of chocolate?

As an adult, his character reminds me that there is a magic in childhood that is often shrugged off as “simply being child-like”.  But, I ask you, is that such a bad thing?

Cheers to embracing the wonder and magic of childhood!

***As some of you might have noticed, I am VERY behind with my 52 Faces Project, but I am back on the wagon!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. jmnowak says:

    Oh, I hadn’t realised…I’ll miss his talent! I also love this ‘bow tie’. I enjoy reading biographies about Hollywood personalities and must add him to my list. Currently (as of today), picked up one about the 1930s actor, Lew Ayres, one of my faves from that era. Aahh, yes, Imagination…it’s what keeps me going! 🙂

    1. missyjean says:

      How interesting that you read about Hollywood personalities! I am not familiar with Lew Ayres, but I will check him out. I always love the backstory on artists (in all their varied forms) and know what gets their imaginations going.

      Thanks for you comment! 🙂

      1. jmnowak says:

        I’ve finished the book and now understand why I always liked him! He reminds me just a little of myself…As for reading about Hollywood personalities, am interested in biographies of any description. Hollywood people create their careers, just like anyone else, and have lives too that impinge on that or their families etc. They’re human, just like me, and you!

  2. “Cheers to embracing the wonder and magic of childhood!” Amen to that, Melissa!

    1. missyjean says:

      It is a pretty magical time in life, isn’t it? Have a fabulous weekend!

  3. I was soo sad when I learned about his death last week – he really was such a wonderful actor and I loved his films, especially of course the one you´ve portraited him in so beautifully, Melissa! And I totally agree: there´s nothing wrong with being child-like: they always grasp the magic of each moment in life so much better than we so-called (usually) do! I always think that artists, no matter what their profession have that lovely ability to stay like a child in mind, at least partly 🙂 At least that´s true for me 😉 have a lovely week ahead! xxxxxxxxx ❤

    1. missyjean says:

      Thank you so much Sarah….his dealth really struck me as well, since his role in Willie Wonka is so vivid and magical in my mind.

      Cheers to having fresh eyes filled with child-like wonder!

      I hope your new job is going fabulously! 😀

      1. It is going really well, always challenging and never boring! 🙂 And how are things your side?? I hope your changing profession does also work out for you! Wish you a beautiful and splendid weekend, my dear friend!!! 🙂 xxxxxxxxx ❤

      2. missyjean says:

        Things are shifting in my world…..I am an ESL teacher by profession, but our goat/soapmaking endeavors are really taking off! Balancing the two is challenging but rewarding and I am determined to make it work. Who says I can’t be a goat herder / English Teacher/ Artist?

        Also, fall time is arrive here in the Inland Northwest, which I LOVE. The smells, colors and activities…tea-drinking, crisp air and long walks with leaves crunching under foot.

        Happy Thursday dear Sarah!

      3. Personally I think it sounds like a perfect combination of 3 great jobs! 🙂 I’d love to know more about your farm doings – do you have an extra homepage or blog for it? I share your love for fall but the only thing I don’t like about it is that it leads to winter far too early around here (Berlin), approximately 2 weeks after it started 😉 Have a very lovely weekend dear Melissa! 🙂 xxxxx

Leave a Reply

