Eat your zucchini!

 

“When I pass a flowering zucchini plant in a garden, my heart skips a beat.”  — Gwyneth PaltrowIMG_1937 (3)

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *      Explosions happening in the garden!  Sunny yellows, technicolor greens, and a mind-boggling array of variations are all popping up.

Summer squash signals the height of summer for me, and I love the many recipes that emerge from the incredible abundance (my mom made an amazing fried zucchini when I was a kid!).

And the flowers?  Don’t even get me started!  Not only are they gorgeous but they are EDIBLE!  I first learned of the culinary possibilities during my time teaching ESL in Oaxaca, Mexico.

If you are not familiar with Oaxaca, stop what you are doing and check out my very first post here on WordPress over 4 years ago entitled Inspiring C*O*L*O*R  featuring my dear friend Elena Gonzalez and family who weave incredible ( and colorful!) wool rugs to support the local economy in their southern Mexican village of Teotitlan de Valle. So inspiring!

Recipes for zucchini coming soon, and a little spoiler here…..they may include zucchini flowers and Oaxaca!

As always, if you can contribute any yummy recipes, do tell!  Contact me through the Contact tab on top.

Happy Tuesday, folks. May it be an inspired one.

 

 

 

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Wonderful post, Melissa! I just love zucchinis!! Already heard that you can eat the flowers but haven´t tried it yet. How do you prepare them? 🙂 xxx

    1. missyjean says:

      Thanks so much! I have zucchini on the brain, since there is so much of it coming out of the garden. The flowers are indeed edible, and you can simply fry them up with olive oil, a touch of salt and onion if you like. Delicious!

      I am a big fan of trying to use up all the veg if at all possible. Have a fabulous day!

      1. They are definitely one of my favourite vegetables though I need to buy them at the supermarket 😉 Thank you for the recipe, will definitely try this out next year as soon as there are flowers to be found!! 🙂 xxxxxxx ❤

      2. missyjean says:

        Flowers can be tricky to find, but if you do…..GRAB ‘EM! 🙂

  2. Chez Shea says:

    We call them courgettes over her- but I agree, they are great. Mine are in full production at the moment!

    1. missyjean says:

      Ahh, I simply love learning names of the same thing but in different locations. I think I have heard them called courgettes before.

      What do you do with all of the abundance?

  3. arizona1316 says:

    That’s right, zucchini blooms are awesome although I never tried eating them. I love your drawings !

    1. missyjean says:

      The flowers are not only beautiful, but also delicious. They are easy to prepare… fried a bit and put into tortillas quesadilla-style. I am so happy you enjoyed the sketch!

      I am curious how available they are for folks. Have you seen them for sale in your local farmer’s markets or in restaurants?

Leave a Reply

