Week 21: Sherman Alexie

 

“You know, people speak in poetry all the time. They just don’t realize it.”  –Sherman Alexie

DSC_0128 (3)
Sherman Alexie. Micron ink and watercolor. 2016.

sherman Alexie

Who:  Sherman Joseph Alexie, Jr.

What: Native American writer, poet and filmaker

Where: Born and raised on the Spokane Indian Reservation in Wellpinit, Washington and now lives in Seattle, WA.

Why: Sherman is an incredible storyteller, and every time I go to one of his readings at a local venue, I am reminded how many stories we each have inside of us.  I appreciate how his style connects very deeply and eloquently with his upbringing and experience as a Spokane/Coeur d’Alene Indian in a modern world.

He has a new children’s book out now, which is whimsically  illustrated by  California/Mexico based Yuri Morales.  I love the blending of both Native storytelling and Mexican folk tradition seen on the vibrant story pages.

Find Thunder Boy, Jr. at your local bookstore. Shopping local is best!

More about Sherman at his website http://fallsapart.com/

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Missy, you really captured the full character of this man. Great! My congratulations ❤

    1. missyjean says:

      Thanks so much! Your comment made me smile so big!

      As I keep practicing sketching people, I feel like I am improving little buy little. Sherman is pretty fabulous, and he does have that big smile. 🙂

      1. So true, his personal halo is sketched with a so much coherent expression. I will suggest you would like my last post about Music. Thanks so much. Best wishes 😉

Leave a Reply

