Eat Your Cherries!

“I want to do to you what spring does with the cherry trees.” — Pablo Neruda

13551690_1351706311587125_1423081347_n(1)

The quotes is indeed a bit racy, but hey…..he is one of my favorite poets and you must admit. Cherries are lusciously alluring!

It is cherry season here in the Pacific Northwest, and it seems there are cherries everywhere you look.  They are one of my favorite tastes of summer, and they hold many memories for me.  One of my fondest memories is participating in the Cherry Picker’s Trot at Green Bluff when I was about 8 years old with my mom and sisters. This year was the first time I have run it since then, and boy did I feel how the years have passed in my legs!

I can still remember the smells of summer vividly, and the satisfaction of stuffing my mouth with cherries until my mouth, tongue and anything that my sticky, juice-stained hands touched became stained a deep magenta color.

Seasonal produce really connects me with my childhood memories and the abundance of the harvest here in the Inland Northwest.

Is there any seasonal produce that has come into abundance recently that gets you excited?  I am curious what the summer bounty looks like in other regions.

Happy Tuesday folks!  Make it an abundant one.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I love posts like this! Thanks for such a well-written, informative piece 🙂 Always looking to improve my health & lifestyle!

    If you could spare a few minutes and read my most recent blog post and give feedback, it’d mean so much to me – https://ohitsonlysteven.wordpress.com/2016/07/26/5-ways-to-improve-lifestyle/

    1. missyjean says:

      Hello Steven!

      I went over to your blog and checked it out. Great content! I left some feedback for you, but please let me know if I can help in any way.

      So glad you liked the post! Healthy food and access to it is something I am really passionate about, and I am so happy you addressed that in your post 🙂

  2. I agree, cherries are to be cherished! 😉 I just made some sour cherry marmelade last weekend – and it tastes delicious!!! 🙂 Especially to croissants or wholemeal toast 🙂 Here it´s also cherry time, strawberries are nearly over but you can still get some nice red and black currants. Ahh – I just love summer!!! 🙂

    1. missyjean says:

      I know! Berries are such a precious commodity because they only come around once a year. Marmalade sounds divine! We mostly dehydrate extra cherries to add to oatmeal in winter to give it the sweet taste and memory of summer.

      So glad to hear you are enjoying summer’s bounty there, as well. Cheers!

  3. Cherries from all over the world do not compare with the bulging, fat, juicy colorful cherries from eastern Washington….I love them. Your illustration of the cherries is sweet and colorful

    1. missyjean says:

      I agree fully. They truly are a gem from this side of the mountains. Glad you liked the sketch!

Leave a Reply

