Of Crayons and words….

 

When was the last time you picked up  a crayon?

The huckleberry in this sketch was inspired after reading a post by Patchious Patch, who sparked my interest once more in crayons with this fun post about melting colors to use in art called A Weekend Amuse – Melting Colors. I only had four colors to work with, but was able to get a somewhat “huckleberry-esque” hue.

DSC_0726 (4)
Lettering practice for the Sketchbook Skool class “Draw It Like It’s Hot!”.

The internet can be quite a funny thing, and I have been reflecting a bit lately on the progression of my blog as well as a human being.  In my daily life, I am a bit of a shy person, but I have really appreciated how blogging has allowed me to connect with people like Patch, who jump start my creativity.  I love how I can interact and swap perspectives with people from far reaching parts of our globe, as well as those who are quite near.

This is a quick lettering exercise I did for my Draw It Like It’s Hot sketching class, taught by Koosje Koene.  If you don’t know about Sketchbook Skool yet, you should definitely check it out (it is secret one of the biggest driving factors to maintaining my sketching habit the last few years!).

Happy Friday, folks!  May it be an inspired one.

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Chez Shea says:

    I agree, blogging is a lovely way to connect with other people.

    1. missyjean says:

      So glad we connected here, Chez Shea.

  2. I couldn´t agree more with you, Melissa!! 🙂 It really is amazing what wonderful communities you can find in the internet! It´s here that I finally meet people who appreciate my art and let me share theirs. My friends in real life are not very interested in this part of me… I don´t know why this is so, but now that I´m here it doesn´t matter so much to me anymore 🙂 And it is so lovely to inspire and be inspired in return!!! Have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

  3. jmnowak says:

    Hmm…blue and text variations = interesting results. That huckleberry looks very like a blueberry. I’m glad your connections on the internet have kept you focused with your Art…I like seeing the results! 🙂

  4. pari617 says:

    That is so well drawn! The theme looks fantastic!
    The last time I picked up a crayon (or a colour pencil) was probably in April, for my colouring book. Yikes!
    That’s a long time!

    1. missyjean says:

      That is not too long…I had not really picked one up to use in any sort of elaborate way in years! It is a fun one to experiment with, and it made me feel like a kid again.

      Thanks for your kind words, and I am so glad you appreciated the theme. What kind of coloring books were your working with? Fun!

      1. pari617 says:

        I was coloring in Alice In Wonderland coloring book.
        Oh yes! It did make me feel like a child! Especially when I bought myself 50 colours sketch pens!

  5. Sabiscuit says:

    I wake up next to crayons every morning. I leave a set by my bed, with a sketchbook just in case I feel like drawing before going to sleep. Doodling is relaxing for a lot of people but I find that for me, it takes a lot of effort. I try sketching out ideas for new paintings and getting right to work soon after. xo

    1. missyjean says:

      I love this idea! It is interesting to hear the process of others, and having something on hand (crayons are something entirely new for me!) for when inspiration strikes seems to encourage creativity to flow somehow.

      I am curious about your sketching before painting. Do you find it easier to sketch in a separate notebook or something, or do you prefer to sketch it out directly on the surface you will be using?

      Your work is full of energy, and it really seems to be a magical mix of creative elements. Apparently your process is a success! 🙂

      1. Sabiscuit says:

        Thank you so much for the lovely compliment and the questions. My process is simply, “Experiment with different media.” I sketch all ideas in my notebook or sketchbook. To be certain my idea works, I do a colour test on cardboard or paper. I sketch several variations and make more notes as I tend to modify the idea later when I transfer it to canvas. I need lots of thinking time before attempting a painting. As a result, I work very fast. Experimenting with different surfaces has helped me to quickly solve problems when I’m working on something really big.

      2. missyjean says:

        Experimentation is the best! I love the effect and you really do have a lot of energy in your work.

        Sounds like you have a bit of a polishing process down, and that is fantastic. I can totally identify with the thinking time needed before attempting something. Getting bogged down in trying to work out details is something that can trip me up occasionally.

        Cardboard is really fun, but I have never worked with it. Are there certain qualities about it that draw you to it?

        We have an phenomenal artist here in my city that does elaborate recreations of works from famous artist but with his own personal twist to them. Every since I began admiring his work, I have realized there is so much variation in what surface people are working with. Sometimes it surprises me! 😀

      3. Sabiscuit says:

        Cardboard helps me to test out ideas without feeling pressure to get it right. It absorbs ink, oil markers and water based paint easily because it’s paper. That means I can work quickly. It’s a very flexible medium. I’ve also made placards using only markers and the reception was quite good when I published them on my blog. It’s a great way to make a strong statement simply without writing an essay. Add all the thoughts like graffiti with a main statement and boom…

  6. Hey girl!
    Great post!💯💯

    Hugz,
    Miss B.💋

    1. missyjean says:

      Thanks so much! Message me your contact info and I can send a hand painted postcard as a new subscriber 🙂

Leave a Reply

