Journal Evolution Pt. 1 – A visual journey

Has your blog maintained the same core themes and focus as you intended  when you first set out to blog?  

When I started this blog, my intention was to highlight people, projects, and creative expression with a focus on sustainability. The power of connecting people with like-minded individuals to harness more even more energy around world-changing ideas was my intent. I don’t know how well I followed that path, but one thing is certain. Over time, my blog has taken on a life of its own.

If I were to ask you what my focus is now, what would you say?

Creativity and connection still, yes.  Sketchbooking maybe?  What started out as an occasional hand-written entry in my handmade leather journal (more on that in my post Morning Pages here), has become an almost daily practice of sketching. Although I  now keep books that are for sketching only, the original process emerged with occasional doodles and lettering in my  journal pages.

Here is a visual journey showing the evolution.

Enjoy, and happy Thursday folks. May it be an inspired one.

IMG_1875
Hotel View, Ascroft Ghost Town, Colorado. August, 2013.
IMG_1884
“Summer Toes.” June, 2015.
IMG_1885
“Urban Eden Sunflowers.” July 31, 2016.
IMG_1876
Pub Hub Cafe, Denver International Airport, Colorado. August, 2013.
IMG_1877
Couch with a view. Spokane, Washington. August, 2013.
IMG_1879
“101 Ways I Spend My Time.” June, 2014.
IMG_1880
August, 2014.
IMG_1881
Japanese Garden at Manito Park, Spokane, Washington. November, 2014.
IMG_1882
New Years Reflection, December 31st, 2014.
19 Comments Add yours

  1. Chez Shea says:

    Love the journey you’re on. Just go with it and see where it takes you.

    1. missyjean says:

      Thanks! It has just been interesting to look at other blogger’s evolution and it made me think of mine. Funny how life takes us by the hand and leads us if we let it.

      Have you noticed a change in your direction compared to when you first started blogging?

      1. yeah now you got me thinking of my blog too ,, where it started and how its changed and where is it heading …??!! 🙂

  2. Dean says:

    This is so inspiring! I keep a bullet journal and a dream journal, and have been wanting to start keeping a regular everyday journal like the one you share above! I might just have to go out and get myself yet *another* sketchbook to do this! 😀

    1. missyjean says:

      I am so glad, Dean! Everyday journaling and allowing myself to doodle as it comes has been a fun addition. I am okay with a cross-over and handwriting and sketching, although I think it drives others nuts.

      Have you kept a written journal in the past? Final question (I promise!)…what’s a bullet journal?

      1. Dean says:

        Omigosh! Bullet Journaling is the best! It’s great for keeping motivated and making sure you get everything you need done in the day–I recommend checking out bulletjournal.com and watching the videos there and watch other people’s videos on YouTube, especially Boho Berry’s. I used to keep a written journal for about six months at a time on and off throughout the years. But if I incorporate sketching with it I think I might stick at it a bit longer!

      2. Hey thanks for the link ..

      3. missyjean says:

        Dean! This was a perfect comment at the perfect time. Just the day before I had been discussing my full schedule with some frustration. I am one (as maybe you are other creative type people are as well) someone who gets into many projects at once because there are just so darn many good things to explore out there.

        I did in fact watch the bulletjournal.com video about three times in the past few days, and I am going to give it a try! Thanks so much for the suggestion and I will let you know how it goes. Might incorporate sketching a bit too. As far as sticking with it, it is incredible how if you adapt a habit to suit your personal lifestyle, it really will stick longer.

        Cheers, and thanks so much for the tip!

      4. Dean says:

        Glad I could help! 🙂

    2. missyjean says:

      Ahh, the perils of organizing journals. It can be challenging! These days I tend to have three. The leather bound written one, a small one for every day quick sketches, and a larger one with nice quality watercolor paper for more substantial projects.

      And I am a HUGE fan of creating every habits. It realty allows space and reinforces what you are passionate about.

  3. Wow ! .. now here is something that connects with “creative expression “…I have the same habit !!!! and have been doing it over the past years , places I have been to, emotions that I have been through and just simple incidents that have happened along the way of life’s journey .I have been meaning to put some up on my blog too , but admit it , I have been just lazy to do it 🙂 … your inspiration in focus has done it again !!! .. I wish I could send some of the pictures now .. just to show you, but how ?.. can you attach pictures in the comment box ?? …

    1. missyjean says:

      So funny you mention posting photos in comments, because I have asked this as well when I wanted to share a photo. Not sure if it is possible or not, but you can send it to my email. I would love to see them! missyjean@netscape.net

      1. I have managed to get the water coloring going , its not the greatest but hey its a start 🙂 will be posting it soon …stay tuned

      2. ….This post is on the basis of one such inspiration . A post about maintaining the core theme of blog by missyjean at inspirationinfocus.wordpress.com, titled Journal evolution , inspired me …..

  4. What a wonderful journey you and your blog had so far, Melissa!! 🙂 I love your creativitiy! It is so inspiring!! So glad we connected here on wordpress 😀

    1. missyjean says:

      You are super sweet Sarah, and our interaction has done wonders for my creativity, honestly! I am glad we found mutual inspiration here as well 🙂

  5. Great! Thanks for sharing!

    1. missyjean says:

      So happy that you appreciated it, Kathy! Sharing and connecting is the fun part.

Leave a Reply

