Eat your rhubarb!

13437185_1642418566078105_1398825755_n
Strawberry – Huckleberry – Rhubarb pie filling recipe collage  in progress.

The summer is heating up (literally, as it is about 92 degrees today!) , and I am thinking of new recipes for all of those yummy  fruits and veggies that come along with the long summer days.13534330_727094840727290_230281766_n(1)

Rhubarb grows prolifically here in the Inland Northwest of Washington, and admittedly, it is one of my favorite veggies to sketch with its striking color combination of vibrant red and lime green.

The smell and blissful sweet and sour mix of rhubarb berry pie on my tongue reminds me of summer birthday parties at our cabin in the Wallowa mountain range of Oregon. My two older sisters and I all have summer birthdays, so my grandma would bake a cake or pie for all three girls to celebrate during our annual 4th of July family reunion at the cabin.

This recipe is reminiscent of that magical time, and it also highlights the native berry of our region, the huckleberry.

I have been illustrating recipes for a while now, and this one in particular was done for my Draw It Like It’s Hot class, another great one offered this term in Sketchbook Skool, and taught by the fabulously talented Koosje Koene. Her blog Make Awesome Art is also a must see if you want to be inspired to sketch.

Enjoy!

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Rhubard is indeed wonderful! And your sketches and recipe collage are too! 🙂 Sadly the season for it is already over here in Germany but I always fill up my freezer with some extra rhubarb that are still good to use for cakes and compote (stewed fruit) for the rest of the year 😀

    1. missyjean says:

      Mmmm, delicious! Our season is about over too…I really had to search to get some last week to make rhubarb pie. So smart to freeze it! Good tip for next year. 🙂

      1. Always glad to help another rhubarb enthusiast! 🙂

  2. pari617 says:

    That is such a sweet drawing!

    1. missyjean says:

      Thank you so much, and glad you like it! I seem to have a veggie theme going on.

      1. pari617 says:

        Very healthy!
        Keep it up!

    2. missyjean says:

      Rhubarb enthusiast. I love it! It reminds me of a bike club or something. But rhubarb is a bit of an underdog in the veggie world, wouldn’t you agree?

      Sarah, your comments always make me smile.

      1. pari617 says:

        The thing is, we don’t get rhubarb here in India. I like most vegetables, though. I wouldn’t pass up the chance to try it once!
        Also, my name is Pari 😀

      2. missyjean says:

        It is a big, leafy vegetable with bright red stalks. It is quite sour, so people mostly use it in deserts with another sweeter fruit to offset the sourness.

        Do you have some sour or tart fruit that you can think of that is paired with another one to balance the flavors in India?

        So fun to interact with you, Pari,

        Cheers! Melissa

      3. pari617 says:

        Hm, come to think of it, we don’t make many sweets out of vegetables and fruits. If any, they’re usually very few. We use rice or semolina or lentils paired with ghee (a dairy product) or milk or both.
        It is, indeed Melissa!

      4. missyjean says:

        Delicious! I love lentils, and have heard of ghee, but have never tried it. So very glad we can share stories here, Pari.

        Have a fabulous weekend!

      5. pari617 says:

        Me too!
        Have a great Weekend!

  3. Sabiscuit says:

    So inspiring. I have several pieces of cardboard squares I want to use for something creative. This looks really nice. I’m thinking of creating an herb/spice board for my next curry adventure. We’ll see. 💓💓

    1. missyjean says:

      Awesome! Cardboard is so readily available, so I would so enjoy seeing your project. Your comment inspired me last night, soooo….

      I made signs to label our handmade goat milk soap we are starting to sell, spraying small square cardboard pieces with chalkboard paint and it worked fabulous!

      1. Sabiscuit says:

        OMG!!! I love goat milk and goat milk products and I think that label idea is perfect. Homemade and sustainable. 😘😘😘

Leave a Reply

