Quote Challenge #3: Beyond limits

“If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life.  There are no limits.  There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.”  —-Bruce Lee

Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

***This post was originally published JANUARY 20, 2013   . It is being re-posted as part of my quotes challenge, which was given to me by the lovely Sarah over at Secret Art Expedition.

I passed this sign everyday one summer as I rode my bike down the hill into Santa Fe, New Mexico. Picking up speed as I zoomed down the hill, I felt free and exhilarated! Wind in my hair, whistling in my ears and kissing my face with it’ s warmth.

You see, I knew that beyond the sign there was so much waiting for me. My job was to get on my bike, go down the hill and welcome whatever awaited me.  But first, I had to get on that bike.

It is not always so easy to go beyond certain points in life. Reminding ourselves that our spirits are free gives us strength to go bravely out into that great big, wonderful world.

So….. go get ‘ em tiger! Today is your day!

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Chez Shea says:

    Great post. Love the sign.

    1. missyjean says:

      It was one of my favorites, and inspiring every morning as a rode past. 🙂

  2. Terrific post and very inspiring quote!!! I loved Bruce Lee when I was a kid, but never paid attention to him otherwise – I´m going to change that now thanks to you!!! Very wise words he said, very wise indeed. So glad that you´ve participated in that challenge! 😀 Wish you an awesome weekend! xoxo

    1. missyjean says:

      His life is fascinating, actually. So much mind training went into his martial arts training as well.

      Thank challenge was fun. 🙂

      1. I imagine it did. It´s like this with other sports as well (I did some gymnastics when I was much younger ;). Visualizing the task ahead is always helping you halfway through it, I feel. It must be the same with the martial arts.

      2. missyjean says:

        That mind body connection is pretty remarkable!

  3. jmnowak says:

    I wish I’d known about Bruce Lee as I was growing up. His positive influence, going by this quote, would’ve changed the course of my life, for the better of that I have no doubt. In the meantime, I have quietly challenged the negativity I am surrounded by and achieved some things I’m proud of. Hear, hear!! 🙂 Thanks for bringing this to my notice.

    1. missyjean says:

      Hi Janina – thanks for stopping by!

      I think his quotes are what inspired me to look into his back story a bit. Fascinating, and such a strong mind he had.

      Kudos for challenging negativity around you…I think we sometimes forget how our attitude can positively impact everything around us.

      You are very welcome and I love your experimentation through your blog. 😀

Leave a Reply

