Eat your turnips!

on
IMG_1894
Eat your turnips! Micron ink, watercolor and colored pencil. 2016.

Most Fridays, I try to volunteer at the urban farm where I am lucky to reside at in the lovely Spokane, Washington called Urban Eden Farm.

In exchange, I get lovely fresh produce, and it has pushed me to explore new recipes and new ways of thinking about certain veggies that were new to me prior to living on the farm.  Turnips were one of these.

Since my introduction to the fabulous turnip, I  embraced their incredible nutritional value, and even have taught a class at our local food bank on root veggies.  This understated and often unknown vegetable of the soil are very similar to other root veggies, like carrots or potatoes. They can be boiled, roasted, mashed, or even eaten raw in most cases.

Do you know any good root veggie recipes?

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Chez Shea says:

    Really cute turnip drawing. I just mash them with butter and soya sauce-

    1. missyjean says:

      Thanks! I am a bit embarrassed to admit that I only recently started exploring turnips and other root veggies…they can be intimidating, but now I try to think of them as really similar to potatoes in preparation.

      When you mash them, do you mix a little potato in there? ( I love recipe ideas, by the way!)

      1. Chez Shea says:

        I wouldn’t add potato- but a classic Irish favourite is a mix of carrots, parsnips and turnip.To that I would add butter, black pepper and soya sauce. It’s really nice.

Leave a Reply

