Week 17: Anna Cummings

on

“Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school.” –Albert Einstein

IMG_1891 (2)

A SKETCH IN MY MOLESKINE DAILY PLANNER OF SOMEONE WHO INSPIRES ME, ONCE A WEEK, EVERY WEEK, IN 2016.

*******************************************

Who:    Anna Cummings

When:  October 7th, 1997

Where: Spokane, Washington

Why: This lovely girl is my first born niece who graduated this past Friday.

 What a special experience to witness a landmark in a loved one’s life.  To be there to support their achievements and cheer them on.  Graduation was one of those moments for me.  I was bursting with pride for this girl, who grew up so fast in front of my very eyes.

As a family, we went to the Opera House in our city and watch the class of 2016 proudly cross the stage. These landmark moments also tend to bring up stories in our family.  

One of my favorite stories was when Anna was about 3.  We were sitting on the couch at my mom’s house, and I was teaching her to shell sunflower seeds in her mouth.  No big deal, right?  Teaching this sweet toddler “life skills” was one of my favorite past times. I was the youngest, and in many ways, Anna was more like the younger sister I never had. 

My sister came into the living room, saw us sitting there, cheeks puffed up like squirrels filled with seeds, and she freaked.  

“What are you doing!?! She can’t eat sunflower seeds!”

 Being a new young mom, I totally understand my sister’s reaction in the situation.  But in my mind, even from a young age, Anna could learn and do ANYTHING that she set her mind to.  I still have total faith in her, whether it be shelling sunflower seeds, or taking on the big world after high school.

I can’t wait to see where her path takes her, and I look forward to supporting her in any way that I can.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

