Week 16: Frida Kahlo

on

“Nothing is worth more than laughter. It is strength to laugh and to abandon oneself, to be light. Tragedy is the most ridiculous thing.”      –Frida Kahlo

Week 16 - Frida KahloA SKETCH IN MY MOLESKINE DAILY PLANNER OF SOMEONE WHO INSPIRES ME, ONCE A WEEK, EVERY WEEK, IN 2016.

*******************************************

Who:    Frida Kahlo

When:  Born July 6th, 1907 , died  July 13th, 1954.

Where: Born in Coyocoán , Mexico City, Mexico

Why:     She was a strong-minded, self-made artist, who was able to fuel her creative spirit through the grimmest of times. Inspiring in her vivid depictions of life’s hardships that plagued her, Frida stands as a bold icon for feminism, symbolism in creative works and Mexican cultural.

Her style was shown both through the vibrant brushstrokes in her paintings, as well as her public persona, where she fluttered around the creative and intellectual powerhouse communities of the day with a style that was all her own.

Often clad in colorful , flowing skirts and intricately embroidered shirts, Frida was able to cover her injured legs, while enthusiastically connecting with her indigenous Mexican heritage. Her legs had been heavily damaged by childhood polio and a horrific trolley accident in the streets of Mexico City as a girl.  Both these accidents were powerfully woven together to influence her art, with more strands of tragedy added with the addition of Diego Rivera and multiple miscarriages to her life.

I always have admired Frida and her confident way to take on the world, no matter what challenge was flung at her.  She managed to live her life with a flair and vitality that  shines on, carrying a timeless quality that is delightfully  as accessible today as it was in her time.

frida reference
Frida on White Bench, New York, 1939. Photographer Nickolas Muray.

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I love Frida though she had here cutting side. Nice picture

    1. missyjean says:

      She did, indeed. The lady was a fireball and I know the turmoil in her life, and particularly the rocky relationship with Diego, was a result of actions of all parties involved. She was one of the first artists who I took to more after I heard her backstory. Very candidly her pain was worked through in her brushstrokes, but she proved to be a pretty tough cookie. I visited both the blue house and the house in Mexico City that she shared with Diego made of of two separate houses joined by an elevated walkway….pretty impressive to see their spaces and living artfully was a lifestyle for them both.

      Goodness.. You just made me realize I could go on and on. 🙂 I love pondering the lives of artists.

      1. I envy you visiting the blue house I would love to go there. I did a post about her relationship with Andre Breton’s wife Jacqueline Lamba and I keep meaning to do a post about her as she was connected to the Surrealists(my main area of interest, though not the only one) even though her relationship with the movement were fraught to say the least. I could also go on about the lives of the artists🙃

  2. pari617 says:

    Hi!
    I just wanted to tell you that i really liked your idea of sketching the people who inspired you. It’s a great project and all the best!
    Have a good day!

    1. missyjean says:

      Awesome! I am so very glad you like the project. It has kept me motivated and is ending up to be a good collection of inspiring people.

      Have you ever considered doing some kind of project centered around a theme here? I highly recommend it!

      Cheers! 😀

      1. pari617 says:

        Well, I’m not really that good at art, not at all, but for some reason I try different things. I just end up ditching them after a while.
        But I have tried it writing, more than 3 projects, actually, and I really do love it! I’ll try for something more inspiring 🙂

  3. I think the biggest tragedy of them all is if one is persistently so blocked that one is completely hindered in being creative. Creativity is life. Cut off the creative flow and it will lead to all sorts of problems.

  4. happy maker! says:

    Beautiful quote and cool drawing. Her life is full of inspiration.

    1. missyjean says:

      Thank you!

      I was always fascinated by her personal story and how her struggles are so visible in her art. And I love all the vivid colors she incorporated as well.

Leave a Reply

