Week 15: Nelleke Verhoeff

on
A SKETCH IN MY MOLESKINE DAILY PLANNER OF SOMEONE WHO INSPIRES ME, ONCE A WEEK, EVERY WEEK, IN 2016.

*******************************************

IMG_0178 (2)

Who:    Nelleke Verhoeff, an artist at Red Cheeks Factory and Sketchbook Skool Teacher

When: Began illustration and design  work in 2007, after starting a business (Yepr)

Where:  Lives in Rotterdam, Holland.

Why: This week in Sketchbook Skool “Polishing“, our teacher was Nelleke Verhoeff, a former theatrical performer who has now channeled her creativity into making fabulous illustrations. As an artist, she is full of energy and play when  approaching her work.  She is founder of The Red Cheeks Factory, an “online playground” and blog that showcases her whimsical illustrations.

Many of her illustrations are portraits, and most have rosy red cheeks. Like me, she started her own drawing project to keep herself motivated and the subject was  to  draw a face a day.  Definitely check it out, because it is an impressive example of how your work can add up day by day into a full collection!

It is so very inspiring for me to learn from someone who encourages you to play with your portraits as a teacher.  She encourages drawing often to practice, but also emphasizes being playful to explore your creativity.

This project of drawing a person a week really has helped me to stretch myself to draw portraits, which used to terrify me.

Thanks to the moon and back to all my inspiring teacher through the years!

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I really Love that you sketch everyday. Keep it up. You will guilt me into doing the same. 😊

    1. missyjean says:

      I appreciate the encouragement… I would love to see you sketch! Really, it can be so surprising what the everyday looks like when you put it on paper.

      Do you have any kind of sketch supplies? Even a simple pad of paper will do!

      1. I have a boatload! Lol! I’ve just gotten out of the habit. It used to be something that I did every day, im very inspired by your posts. 😊

Leave a Reply

