Sketching as a daily practice – Farm walk

IMG_0182

Do you ever feel like you just don’t have enough time to squeeze in to indulge in your creative side?

In my efforts to capture my “everyday” stuff, I am seeing many more chunks of space to sketch. Just grabbing my sketchbook and putting the intention out there has never resulted in an empty page! How lovely to document the ordinary!
 
Sketchbook in hand, I went out for an evening walk with my partner Adam and our herd of Nubian goats around the farm property where we are blessed to live. What treasures I found!
Here is my farm walk collection:
  •  Intricate bark
  • lovely lime green spring foliage
  • our chickens
  • our neighbor’s cool old Jeep
  • dried fall leaf
  • a shovel with a vibrant yellow handle
  • my favorite farm boots (they remind me of my grandfather’s)
  • 10 eggs we collected from the chicken coup.

 All on a 20 minute walk!

Are you able to add some creative time to your day?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. It can be really hard to find creative time! I fit in a bit of knitting on my train commute and do the odd hour of artwork here and there. I am trying to spend 10 hours a week on artwork but it is hard to fit it in round work, my allotment & garden, social life, time with my husband, household chores, sleep…

    Nice sketch btw.

    1. missyjean says:

      I totally agree, Ruth. Fabulous that you knit during your train commute! I would be the girl oogling you knitting, thinking “wow, she is really dedicated to her craft.” The gift of creative expression is such an amazing thing, and I bet you are doing a fine job, even with just squeezing it in. Keep going, because every moment you dedicate to it, you have the power to inspire those around you ( your stuff is AMAZING by the way!).

      Also, stick with the gardening and strong connections with your community, because those are pretty awesome too! 🙂

      Thank you so very much for your comment! 😀

  2. That’s quite impressive! I need to get back into sketching and painting myself. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

