Week 12: Vincent Van Gogh

A sketch in my Moleskine daily planner of someone who inspires me, once a week, every week, in 2016.

*******************************************

Week 12- Vincent van Gogh
Vincent van Gogh, Micron ink, colored pencil. 2016.

Who:   Vincent van Gogh

What: Dutch post- Impressionist painter who painted fabulously expressive, vivid landscapes, portraits and scenes of daily life.  

Where:  The Netherlands (born 1853 , died  1890)

Why:  Starry Night was my first favorite work of art I stumble across while minoring in Art History in university. It was painted during Vincent’s stay at Saint-Paul Asylum, in the south of France.  He had  voluntarily admitted himself in May of 1889 and stayed one year.  Considering some of his most famous works emerged from his stay in the asylum, it makes you question where creativity sprouts from.

The swirling curves, vibrant colors and entirely unique style made me wonder what he really saw outside his window on that starry night.  There are many theories on where his artistic talent and creativity emerged from, but it is clear he struggled from mental issues.  For some reason, learning his life story made me appreciate the beauty  visually depict one’s own world for all the world to see.

Vincent_van_Gogh_-_Self-Portrait_-_Google_Art_Project_(454045)
Self-portrait, oil on artist’s board. 1887.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. What a beautiful sketch! You captured the essence of his brushwork very well indeed!
    I looooove Vincent Van Gogh, he´s one of my favourite painters and I believe he was the first one I noticed when I was very little:) “Starry night” hang as a poster many years over my bed, as well as “Café terrace at night”.
    Have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

    1. missyjean says:

      Thanks so much! When you sit down to try to copy his painting, it is funny how much more you notice each stroke. Pretty fun, really.

      You also have a fabulous weekend! Mine will consist of goat watching and hopefully getting in some sketches of them. Stay tuned! 🙂

      1. I know exactly what you mean! It was only when I “copied” Rousseau´s The Dream that I noticed how many details the painting held! I was utterly flattened and needed so much time to finish it.
        I look forward to you goat sketches!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

