Week 9: Dr. Jane Goodall

A sketch in my Moleskine daily planner of someone who inspires me, once a week, every week, in 2016.

IMG_1429

Who:     Jane Goodall

What:    Primatologist, ethologist, anthropologist, and UN Messenger of Peace.

Where:  Born London, England (1934 ), works in Tanzania and around the world

Why:      This incredible woman redefined what a woman could do in the field of science.  Loving animals from an early age, Jane was driven to leave England for Tanzania, where she would study chimps and become the leading champion for saving endangered species around the world!  Go, Jane, go!

I remember seeing Jane in National Geographic Magazine as a girl (that is me reading a Science magazine upside down below), and I wanted to be her when I grew up.  

One of the people I admire most, I had an opportunity to meet her when she visited WSU for a talk. Waiting in the book-signing line 3 hours with my best friend Solanj and her husband Travis , I was in awe when I finally got in front of Jane, book in hand.

I was in awe because woman in front of me had taught me something BIG.

Women can change the world!

So tell me, ……what is your passion

A young Melissa reading Science magazine up-side-down on a camping trip at Priest Lake, Idaho.

 

Websites:

Jane Goodall Institute

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

