Sketchbooking as a daily practice

“I believe in the energy of art, and through the use of that energy, the artist’s ability to transform his or her life and, by example, the lives of others.”   –Audrey Flack

Want to take up something that calms your mind, connects you with your surroundings and leaves you with something tangible to show for it?  Try sketchbook journaling!

DSC_0635 Sketchbook journaling has been a fun addition to my life during the last few years and I must say it becomes addictive.  With almost no materials required to get started (a pencil and notebook paper work!) and a growing community of sketchers worldwide, it seems like the perfect creative habit to pick up.

My goal is to make it a daily practice, and so here is a peeks into what I have been working on. If you too are a sketcher as well, do share!  I would love to see what you have created. Inspiration comes from what we surround ourselves with, and I am so grateful to have inspiration abound reflected back at me.

Listed ingredients from a breakfast grown and raised straight from the fabulous Urban Eden Farm which surrounds me!
Listed ingredients from a breakfast grown and raised straight from the fabulous Urban Eden Farm which surrounds me!

Happy Tuesday people.  Make it a great one.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the idea! Very inspirational!

    1. Thanks Andelieya! It is something that I really enjoy to do, and realize if I can just be mindful to take the few minutes a day to simply sit down, it always proves to be a relaxing session 🙂

  2. writingbolt says:

    I too like the idea. And, though I’ve seen others post similar entries/journals, it’s you who–for whatever reason–that has made the idea sound most attainable. However, I do not feel comfortable pasting my personal journal entries online regardless of form. And, I worry where all my journals would/will end up as they pile up. I keep having this nagging feeling someone will just toss the written and make money off my drawings while I, the artist, suffer through them. It’s my therapy and not making me a living….so why should it make someone else greedy or rich?

    But, I do like the idea. Doodling instead of writing all the time. I have doodled dream images in my journals before.

  3. Ruth says:

    Gorgeous! I love your character on this page. I may mimic her in my journal. I hope you don’t mind. 🙂

  4. Sabiscuit says:

    OMG. This is adorable. I could see them on some recyclable paper as placemats for a summer BBQ. Your guests will be happy to pocket your art and your message.

    1. missyjean says:

      Glad you enjoyed it and a lovely idea! I will keep it in my creative memory file. We do have summer gatherings.

Leave a Reply

