Inspiring A*R*T: Mexico…again!

Out of Mexico comes some of the most colorful, whimsical, and gorgeous folk art.  I am just in love with it.  This piece is one I picked up while visiting Michoacan state, a state famous for being the final destination for the monarch butterfly after their miraculous migration spanning many miles.

This piece portrays the patron saint of Mexico,  Virgin of Guadalupe  or “Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe” (Our Lady of Guadalupe), whose image can be found around the country in many forms and places, from the dash of a taxi, to alters in family homes, to the stalls of any local mercado.  To see the variation in how she is portrayed is  impressive.

Virgin de Guadalupe, Artist Apolonia Marcelo Martinez, Michoacan, Mexico
Virgin de Guadalupe, Artist Apolonia Marcelo Martinez, Michoacan, Mexico

IMG_1453

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Happy Thursday.  May you be inspired today.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruth says:

    Central American folk art is my FAVORITE. Exactly where my blog banner comes from. My only time visiting Tijuana (out-of-towners from the east instisted I take them), I found an amazing TREE OF LIFE that was very unique and super inexpensive, like $15. But I was a poor twenty something who didn’t have any more cash on me than I needed to eat, and they didn’t take credit cards. I’ve always regreted not having that piece. I’ve never seen one like it since.

    1. Nice! Yes, I love your banner with the angel! Trust me, there have been times I could not snag a piece I liked for whatever reason and walked away thinking “aw, darn!” Tree of Life is a pretty cool symbol and comes up alot in Latin American Art. What did the piece look like? You have me curious now.

      The tree on the side is a pendant I handmade 🙂

  2. Ruth says:

    Question…. is your virgin standing on top of a flying angel? That’s awesome!

    1. Ruth says:

      Oh, I see now, that’s what Virgin of Guadalupe does…. Thanks for teaching me something today. 🙂

      1. You are very welcome. It is fun to share!

    2. Why, yes it is! awesome, huh? You made me smile.

Leave a Reply

