Inspiring A*R*T: Nicaragua

This sweet painting was picked up at a local mercado (market) in Nicaragua during a month long excursion that went from Panama City, Panama to Oaxaca, Mexico, where I was teaching English at the time.

A fellow teacher and I bused, hiked, taxi-ed, and trained it across the diverse stretch of Central America and it is one of my best travel memories.

Folk art painting picked up in Nicaragua
Folk art painting picked up in Nicaragua

I bought my mom, two sisters and myself each a painting from this artist.  I loved the colors and the everyday scenes depicted   Latin America is known for it’s incredible local markets, and Nicaragua is no exception.  Markets are lifelines to the community, serving as a one stop-spot to get your food staples, daily news, and build local economies by supporting your local business owner.

Buying local is not a new thing, but has been a way of life around the world for a long time.

Local markets are always one of my first stops when I visit a new place, whether it is in my own neighborhood, or in another culture.  Here are more photo highlights from Nicaragua….

Typical Central American fare
Beads and bobbles from a market stall
Beads and bobbles from a market stall
IMG_0587
Amazing painitng that adorned our hostel room
Creativity on the road....my first watercolor Moleskin notebook.
Creativity on the road….my first watercolor Moleskin notebook.

Journaling, El Salvador
Journaling, El SalvadorIMG_0613

Fruits available for juicing at the market....YUM!
Fruits available for juicing at the market….YUM!

Travel partners

