Inspiring: A*R*T…..Thailand!

                           

“The most precious gift we can offer others is our presence. When mindfulness embraces those we love, they bloom like flowers.”                                     Thich Nhat Hanh                                                                                                       

Man and Woman paintings, from a street market in Thailand
Man and Woman paintings, from a street market in Thailand

This pair was picked out from an artist on the street selling his work in Thailand.  I love the stylized facial features and vibrant colors.

Thailand was an explosion of sights, flavors and sounds.  Monks dotted the streets with their saffron and maroon robes, curry and spices scented the air, and sound on the street was a combination of city sounds of cars and tuk-tuks honking, to lively music, to daily chattering in the exotic Thai language.  I must say, it was the most foreign a country has felt for me, and I think part of that was due to the signs being in characters, and not letters as seen in other languages.

It was also my first exposure to a heavily populated Buddhist country.  At the time, I did not have a very strong interest in spirituality of Buddhist philosophy, but I chose to share this piece of art from my collection because this is the year I have embraced spirituality more.  Meditation, studying spiritual literature and focusing on mindfulness in daily life have all been a big part of my life and personal growth this year.

As the year comes to a close, I am reflecting on what the year has brought to my life, and am looking forward to doing a bit of a photo journal to document and share the past year through today’s daily post.

Enjoy your Friday folks!

Leave a Reply

