Inspiring: R*E*C*I*P*E*S Georgia Jean’s Famous Potato Salad

“If you want to understand any woman you must first ask about her mother and then listen carefully. Stories about food show a strong connection. Wistful silences demonstrate unfinished business. The more a daughter knows about the details of her mother’s life – without flinching or whining – the stronger the daughter.”

-Anita Diamant, THE RED TENT

Mom’s potato salad with a sprig of wild mountain parsley harvested from just outside my backdoor,

If there is a taste of summer for me, it would have to be my mom Georgia’s potato salad.

Tangy, creamy, and a perfect blend of flavors make up this delicious and cooling summer salad.  When ever there was a gathering and you were asked to bring a dish to share, my mom almost always brought her salad.

People would say “What’s in this? It’s delicious!

Mom would say, with a sparkle in her eye, “famiy secret“.  She will proudly tell you that among the multiple potato salads that may appear at any given gathering, hers was always the first to go.

So, when summer rolls around, naturally I crave Mom’s salad.

I almost have the ingredients memorized, but I always give her a call while I am shopping in the grocery store.  This phone call is good for both of us I think, as it is one part getting the ingredient list, one part sharing a wonderful connection with my Mom through food.  She does not just rattle off the ingredients, but we have a conversation about everything that surrounds the salad.  This can range from funny stories, optional ingrdients, or preparation tips.

Every time we have this conversation, almost yearly, I appreciate the stories and memories that are linked to my Mom’s recipes. The taste alone conjures all that goes into the preparation:  a dash of love, a hint of colorful humor, a splash of strength, and a whole lot of memories.

 Just before getting off the phone, my Mom asks:
“Did you get all the amounts correct?”
This makes me smile, as my mom mostly cooks in the “a little bit of this and a dash of this” style.  You add the ingredients, taste it, and adjust if something is just not right.  With Mom’s recipe, I am able to taste when it is just right.

As in many great family recipes, there is a secret ingredient.  The ingredient that makes it stand out from the other salads.  The one that makes it shine, and be a salad that speaks for itself.  Can you guess Mom’s secret ingredient?

So, here is Mom’s famous potato salad recipe (don’t tell her I told you!).

GEORGIA JEAN’S FAMOUS POTATO SALAD

Ingredients

  • mayonnaise
  • classic yellow mustard
  • cubed potatoes
  • diced onions
  • diced hard boiled eggs
  • diced pickles
  • pickle juice
  • salt and pepper

Boil diced potatoes until they are soft in salted water.  Boil eggs until they are hard, let cool and dice.  Set both aside to cool.

Mix mayo, pickle juice, salt and pepper, and mustard together to create a sauce.

Mix potatoes, diced pickles, diced onions, and diced egg together and evenly pour the sauce over the top.  Salt and pepper to taste.

Put in the fridge to cool….it only gets better as the flavors blend! I added wild mountain parsley as a garnish that I harvested just outside my backdoor.  Yum!

One Comment Add yours

  1. snowflake says:

    I love this salad its so yummy and it is totaly true how she does the this and that too -Dante Cummings

Leave a Reply

