, , , , ,

On supporting local artists….

“If you hear a voice within say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced. “ –Vincent Van Gogh I purchased this painting from an artist selling his painting on the street at an artist’s market in Oaxaca City, Mexico while I was there teaching ESL (English as a…

“If you hear a voice within say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced. “

–Vincent Van Gogh

A Oaxacan, Mexico artist's version of Vincent Van Gogh's "Starry Night"
Starry Night, Oaxacan style!

I purchased this painting from an artist selling his painting on the street at an artist’s market in Oaxaca City, Mexico while I was there teaching ESL (English as a Second Language) at a state university a few years back.

Vincent’s Van Gogh’s Starry Night has long been a favorite work of mine, and I fell in love with this piece quickly.  It was also important for me to buy it from the artist, even if at the time I was a little low on pesos.  Buying from local artists gives you an opportunity to connect with the creative mind behind the piece you love, getting a story and making that human connection.

Supporting artists by purchasing from them directly is a way to support local the economy, and a person, a family and community.

So, in my mind, when you support local economies, you are truly saying “yes” to dreams, “yes” to a human-powered economy, and ultimately “yes” to the power of communities to be self-sustaining.

 

The magestic Santo Domingo Church in the historical center of Oaxaca City.
Templo de Santo Domingo, Oaxaca City, Oaxaca, Mexico.  
Oaxacan street artist performing his craft.
Oaxacan street artist practicing  his craft.

Responses to “On supporting local artists….”

  1. Miss Gentileschi

    Wonderful post!! 😀 Great picture!!

    1. missyjean

      So glad you liked it!

      I have been thinking a lot lately about supporting local people in whatever they are trying to contribute….fresh locally grown food, a service, or art! Keeping it local makes all the different and creates such a fabulous sense of community. I appreciate you being part of my community here and following along!

      Cheers! 🙂

      1. Miss Gentileschi

        I couldn´t agree more! It´s so important to support local people 🙂
        How are your goats by the way? The little ones aren´t supposedly that little anymore?;) Sarah xoxo

      2. missyjean

        They are so fabulous! Fun to watch, jump straight up in the air from a standing position (seriously!) for no reason at all, and are so snugly!

        They grow fast, and we hear about 10 pounds a month. Maple, the little girl, is the smallest but my oh my is she cute!

      3. Miss Gentileschi

        Wish I could see that! They sound fantastic! Give them all a huge hug and a kiss from me – especially Maple;)

  2. andelieya 安德洌雅 (official)

    That’s the only way to go before the Walmarts and Amazons of this world with their mass-produced products destroy everything, such as beautiful art and handcrafted items, that still makes us feel alive.

Leave a comment